Follow

What happens when a student's EdReady session times out (due to inactivity)?

Since we track the time that students use EdReady, we want to be sure to capture situations where the student is no longer actively using the site. When a student is using EdReady but hasn't interacted with the site (clicked any buttons in the study path or in a testing activity) for some time, the system may think the student is no longer using EdReady or has closed their browser without logging off. 

When this happens, students will be warned that their session is about to expire via a pop-up window - if the student is using the site, they will be able to dismiss this window and continue their work. (You can find more details in the Student help center: Logging out of EdReady and Session Timeout)

When a student's session times out due to inactivity, we need a way to determine how much time to log for their account, as they likely weren't using EdReady for the final 30 minutes (of inactivity). The timing guidelines that determines when students will see that pop-up window and the resulting time logs are detailed below:

 

Everywhere except the study resources: Students will see prompt after 29 minutes of inactivity

  • If a student does not respond within 60 seconds of being notified: is timed out and EdReady adds 5 minutes to the time using the system for that specific student before the session was started.
  • If a student responds within the minute: the session continues and until the student logs off from EdReady the system adds the time using the system to the actual time using EdReady before the session was started.

 

In the study resources: Students will see prompt after 25 minutes of inactivity

  • If students do not respond within 300 seconds (5 min) of being notified: is timed out and EdReady adds 5 minutes to the time using the system for that specific student before the session was started as well as the time studying for that specific resource/assessment.
  • If students respond within 300 seconds (5 min) of being notified: the session continues and until the student logs off from EdReady the system adds the time using the system to the actual time using EdReady before the session was started as well as the study time.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk